The Cotswolds

The Cotswolds

United Kingdom
almshouses cotswolds cottages

Oxfordshire Cotswolds

Why Visit The Cotswolds With Your Family

Picture chocolate box cottages and quaint villages, the quintessential Cotswolds is defined by its rolling hills, also known as ‘wolds’. This idyllic area of beautiful towns, villages and countryside spans over five counties: Worcestershire, Wiltshire, Warwickshire, Oxfordshire and Gloucestershire. Relax and unwind meandering around the pretty villages admiring the gorgeous honey coloured stone or be more adventurous rambling or cycling over the magnificent hilly countryside.

Famous Locations

A small selection of famous locations seen on screen in the Cotswolds, but by all means not all of them:


  1. The special village of Bampton features strongly in Downton Abbey as the fictional village of ‘Downton’
  2. Another quaint village was used in Bridget Jones’ Diary. The magical snowy Christmas scene just before the family festive party was shot in Snowshill.
  3. In the latest Cinderella film, the carriage journey where Cinderella goes to the ball at the palace was filmed from Grand and Bladon Bridges. Blenheim Palace was also one of the locations used in this film.
  4. You may recognise Gloucester Cathedral from many of the Harry Potter films used as the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardary.


Family Fun

Whatever your age, the whole family can be entertained in the Cotswolds. Alongside the usual shopping and cinema trips, you will find farm parks and wildlife parks plentiful here and to help relieve the boredom of those troublesome teens, mountain bike centres and skate parks will keep them entertained. 

Our Child Friendly Properties in The Cotswolds